Winter Wardrobe Challenge: The Scarf-A-Thon

I have 70 scarves. YES, 70. Who could have known it would come to this amount? An Autumn Birthday helps, lots of scarf related gifts. A penchant for cheapies in Kmart, an obsession for bying scarf souvenirs when travelling the world. And generous and gifted family members who knit. This has lead me to own 70 scarves.

I recently cleaned them out and resorted them, counting as I went. It dawned on me that I needed a way to wear them more, more often, and more of them. So my winter wardrobe challenge was decided! The Scarf-a-thon.

The Scarf-a-thon – a pledge to wear a different scarf every day for at least 30 days (realistically I should be able to go for 70 days).

I tend to wear the same ones over and over again, and there are days when I can still not find a scarf to go with my outfit! Unbelievable. Anyway here are my first 12 scarf outfits!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Purple chiffon blouse with a purple and white patterned scarf. This scarf was a birthday gift earlier this year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My maroon blazer with a apricot and grey scarf with swallows on it. Love this scarf. A birthday present from a few years ago.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A knitted multi-coloured scarf I got for my birthday over 15 years ago. Worn with a coral long sleeved top and a black puffy vest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reusing the black puffy vest again! This time with a star patterned top and star patterned scarf. This scarf was bought about 10 years ago, from Cotton on in a 3 for $10 deal. Woohoo!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Easy outfit, black jumper with a cream and black scarf. Not sure where I got this scarf from, possible birthday gift? Kmart buy?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Turquoise clothes and scarves were the theme for a 4 day trip to Melbourne. This hounds tooth one is from Target.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have had this scarf for about 20 years, I rarely wear it. Knitted red, black and taupe. It’s a little short when wrapped around. Goes well with my red gloves though!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another Melbourne outfit, this time a black, warm snood. So toasty. From H&M.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another snood outfit, dark maroon, from Factorie. A birthday gift last year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A beautiful homemade knitted scarf from my sister in law. This year’s birthday present. Great for the plane trip to  Melbourne!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another of my 3 for $10 Cotton On scarves. A deep fuchsia and one I wear the most. This with a fuchsia top and my trusty black vest to visit lookouts in the Blue Mountains.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Love this hot pink and black number I bought in Bali last year. Worn with a pink and grey cardigan.

 

Stay tuned for Scarf-a-thon, Part 2!

Leave a Reply

