Pumpkin Soup

As winter ends I will no doubt hang up my soup apron for another year. I’m not a huge fan of soup (or aprons it seems as I never wear one) but from time to time I will enjoy some canned tomato soup or some homemade pumpkin soup.

I used to make pumpkin soup in bulk many years ago when I worked at a sandwich shop as a teenager. My homemade recipe is built on the method we used in the shop along with some advice from my mum and aunty. See below for my recipe.

Note: I never really measure anything for this soup, but I usually make enough for three servings.

Ingredients:

  • half or a third of a pumpkin, any variety, I like Jap but Queensland Blue works well too. Don’t usually use Butternut. Peeled and chopped roughly
  • two large or three small potatoes, any variety, peeled and roughly chopped
  • half a brown onion, chopped
  • 2-3  cups of chicken stock, enough to cover the vegetables in the saucepan
  • dash/splash of Worchestershire sauce
  • small can of creamed corn
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • sour cream, parsley, chives, toast etc to serve

Method:

  1. Put potato, onion and pumpkin in a large saucepan, cover with chicken stock
  2. Bring to boil and cook until vegetables have softened and are mushy
  3. Lower heat. Mash/process soup in saucepan (I use a stick blender) until smooth
  4. Mix in Worchestershire sauce and creamed corn, cook over low heat for 2 more minutes, seasoning as required
  5. Serve with any additional items!

Simple, yum, healthy, comforting, filling. See you next winter pumpkin soup!

Leave a Reply

