Art Walk…Episode 3 – The Lounge Room (Part 2)

Opposite my couch and gallery wall, I have a large display unit – Ikea of course! On one side is a tall lamp and a black and white photo collage given to me for my 30th birthday by two of my closest friends. On the other side is a low coffee table with my clock above.

My aunty gave me the clock shortly after I moved in and I love it! It’s huge and it says ‘Les Deux Magots’ on it, which is a famous cafe in St Germain, Paris. My aunty and cousin had just returned from a 3 week trip in France (of which I was extremely jealous!) and this clock was a perfect gift for my lounge room.

Next to the doorway to the kitchen, I have my birdcage wall decal. It is one of those vinyl wall stickers, which I got after seeing one in a friend’s house. There are lots of companies who make them, I got mine from Wall Allure.

On the other side of the doorway is one of my artworks ‘Birth of Aphrodite’ which was in an exhibition about 10 years ago. The colours probably don’t go too well with the rest of the room but I do love this portrait.

Last year at the Illuxcon convention I bought another artwork ready for the lounge room by artist Ruth Sanderson. I also bought a picture book from her about unicorns, but my bag got stolen later on that trip and the book was inside, Sad face!

Screen shot 2015-04-12 at 11.46.31 AM

 

Leave a Reply

