Colour Fest

It seems like it is always this time of year when I need a challenge of the wardrobe variety. Somewhere between the end of winter and the beginning of spring, where I need something else besides my muddled brain to help choose what I wear each day. In 2011 it was Shoesapalooza. Last year the 30 Days of Accessories Challenge.

This year, it’s Colour Fest!

I’ve always loved wearing colour, and my wardrobe has many different tones and hues. I’m pretty lucky that I look good in nearly all colours – brights, pastels, jewel tones… everything except bone/camel neutrals, which tend to wash me out.

This year it’s less of the rules and restrictions, and more of a challenge to create outfits based on a colour family. I won’t be limiting myself to ticking off a colour each day, who knows – I may just love a colour combo so much I wear it for a week!

So the general idea is that I’m going to pick a colour from the Pantone Spring or Fall Collection for 2013, and base my outfit around it.

Here are the selected colours for Spring.

pantone fashion spring colours 2013And here are the Fall colours (or as us Southern Hemispherians call it – Autumn).

pantone fashion fall colours 2013

Already I see that some of those colours will be a challenge as I have little of them in my wardrobe!  I can use clothes, shoes, accessories and jewellery to base around those colours, it’s less of wearing one colour head to toe and more of making that colour the standout of the outfit.

I do know a lady who wears shades of purple to work every day. Whole outfit. Head to toe. Purple every day. She reminds me of a big juicy plum or grape. Cool? Weird? Still undecided.

Wish me luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

