Carry on, why don’t you?

Last weekend I booked an impromptu flight up the coast to hang out with one of my best friends. 2 nights, 2 days, with lots of staying inside talking, eating, talking about eating, general hanging out behaviour. Maybe a trip to the shops or markets. Maybe a meal out. Who could say?

So booking last minute meant trying to cut costs. Step 1: Fly budget. Step 2: Take Carry On.

Three words I’ve never braved before, carry on luggage. Never really been able to pack so tight and snug that I could waltz past the carousels and be on my way. It does seem that nowadays on these budget flights EVERYONE takes carry on, those overhead lockers are bursting and some people’s bags must be pushing the weight and size limit.

So how did I downsize my packing to carry on only? By taking multi-purpose clothes, minimal accessories and staying to a colour scheme (as usual).

IMG_4483

Tops: Black 3/4 sleeve top, black singlet, pink leopard print blouse, paisley pink shirt, black  sparkly jumper, pink blazer.

Bottoms: Black jeans, denim skirt, black leggings

Extras: Black and white galaxy print dress, thongs, pink flats, black boots (not pictured), pink handbag, pink & black & white jewellery.

I had to cover sitting around on lounges to possible beach walks, to wet and dreary weather to maybe a night out. I got all this into a pink leopard print overnight bag, with toiletries, phone charger, notebook and magazines. Not bad!

But did I have enough clothes? Always a possible drama. Of course… but that might be because we hit the shops and I got a few too many extra items! I did get all my shopping into the bag and the handbag on the way home too. Keen to try ‘Carry On’  again soon!

IMG_4486 IMG_4487

 

2 thoughts on “Carry on, why don’t you?

  1. That is one cute travel capsule. To really power it up I suggest the following:
    Add in a black cardigan
    Add in a 3/4 sleeve scoop neck long underwear top (fine weave)
    Add in a nice light weight rain trench coat.
    That covers the “just in case the weather turns ugly”.

    check out onebag.com and the Vivienne files for more ideas.

Leave a Reply

