30 Days of Accessories

To say that I am addicted to accessories is an understatement. I’ve always stuck by my mantra that I’ rather collect something functional than a collection of cat figurines or stuffed animals.

Which is why my smallish apartment is bursting at the seams with jewellery, shoes, scarves and bags. Accessories are also my favourite thing to buy when travelling, they make for a great talking point and usually pack nice and small!

Last year to keep me on my toes (literally!) I embarked upon Shoesapalooza. I pledged to wear 30 shoes in 30 days. Which I succeeded. Starting a holiday and having a bit more time (a little bit more) I felt like it was time for another wardrobe challenge.

But seeing as I’ve upped the shoe collection (plus the rest…) I decided I need to give myself a bigger challenge!

Today is the beginning of the 30 Days of Accessories Challenge!

So combining my shoes, scarves and jewellery I pledge to only wear an item once in 30 days.

Of course there are some rules (it’s my challenge and I can do what I want to)

Rule 1: Like last year, ugg boots, sneakers, soccer boots, gum boots and thongs are excused.

Rule 2: Unlike last year, being the heart of winter and freezing, I’m going to allow myself 2 wears a week of my knee high boots, for warmth purposes only!

Rule 3. I can only re wear an item (except for boots) if I am wearing 2 outfits in one day.

Rule 4. I will be imposing a shopping ban for the last 25 days, I am off to Melbourne for 5 days, and don’t think for a duckling’s second that I won’t be shopping in Melbourne! (The Artist is less impressed with that plan… He can sleep in and I’ll hit the markets!)

Rule 5. My everyday watch is excluded from the challenge – I need it for work and don’t have enough watches to last 30 days (Ok I have 10, but 3 don’t work and.. oh okay, yes I do realise that is a lot of watches….)

Wish me luck! Let me know if you are embarking on a similar challenge or maybe a 30 by 30 challenge with clothes?

And as this is a place of honesty… I will admit. (Deep breath) I own:

38 rings

56 pairs of shoes (plus 8 thongs, 3 sneakers, 2 ugg boots, gum boots and soccer boots)

43 scarves

96 necklaces

10 watches

and…

172 pairs of earrings

(Woah… Breathe out.)

Moving On…Here is Day 1!

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Accessories

  1. Pingback: Packing for Melbourne | Beavercity

  2. Pingback: More Accessories – Beyond the 30 | Beavercity

Leave a Reply

