Beauty is in the Eye of the Beer Holder

I’ve been thinking a lot about beauty lately. This may or may not be a result of watching too many True Beauty and Australia’s Next Top Model episodes. Women are known for obsessing over their looks, and these shows do not help. Websites like People of Walmart help a little. Oh ok, they help a lot. Nothing makes a girl feel better about their hair/weight/butt/age etc than seeing someone worse off than them. I call it the ‘Damn I’m Hot’ theory.

But to other beauty musings, we’ve all been in a situation where we’ve seen a couple and thought ‘How did he end up with her?’ You know the pair, gorgeous leggy blonde chick with the average bloke, or in many occasions, the less than average bloke. Statistically (based on some observations over a chicken caesar at lunch), ‘cute girl/not cute guy’ couples severely outnumber ‘cute guy/not cute girl ‘couples.

Why is that?  Men are more visual?  Women are suckers for the personality? Men can get the girl without trying too hard? Women love a fixer-upper?  The men used to be better looking earlier in the relationship? Women are afraid of good looking men? Men are judgemental when it comes to appearance? That dude is rich and the girl can shop away the pain? More and more girlfriends are looking hotter? Did Julius Caesar really invent a salad?

I would fear dating an extremely attractive male, as I feel my self esteem would not benefit from other girls staring, with that ‘what does he see in her’ face, not to mention thinking that every other female in the room is lusting over your man. Somehow I don’t think men analyse situations like this. They just sit there and think ‘Dang! My girlfriend is hot!’ Hence their power to date well above their average.

Now this doesn’t mean I don’t want an extremely attractive man, but I suppose it’s just fantasy. Sorry Zac Efron, I can only date you in my dreams. So please stop calling me.

Leave a Reply

